Scholarships and Grants

Woman’s Press Club of Indiana’s Education Fund provides scholarships and other awards each year to professional members and college students.

IU student Amanda Marino, left, received her Hortense Myers scholarship award from WPCI’s Julie Slaymaker.

Hortense Myers Scholarship, $500. College juniors, male and female, are eligible. Former UPI Statehouse reporter Myers is remembered by her colleagues on the beat and in the journalism classroom as a fair but relentless reporter who sought the truth in every story she pursued.

Louise Eleanor Ross Kleinhenz Scholarships, $500. Mature Indiana women desiring to upgrade their journalism skills are eligible. This award is in memory of Louise Eleanor Ross Kleinhenz, a 45-year-member of Woman’s Press Club of Indiana who served the organization as president, historian and Bulletin editor before her death in 1977.

Julie and Gene Slaymaker Public Service to Journalism Award, $500. This honors a male or female professional journalist or student who has provided public service to journalism in the past year. The applicant must provide documentation from the recipient of the public service.

WPCI’s Education Board directs the scholarship program. Fundraisers throughout the year, including an auction in the fall, support these programs.

To apply:

The application process begins early in each year, and we will post downloadable applications on this page. Winners are notified in early May and receive their awards during the WPCI communications banquet in spring.