Woman's Press Club of Indiana

WPCI news
WPCI events
WPCI contests
Scholarships and grants

About WPCI
WPCI home

site search by freefind

Club celebrates winners

Kendal and Jackie

Member Kendal Miller, right, won several awards for photography. Contest director Jackie Davis conducted the awards portion of the day's program. (Photo by Fred Granger)

WPCI awarded its top honors and many certificates to winning members for their work in the annual communications contest banquet May 19 a the Garrison at Fort Benjamin Harrison in Indianapolis.

Member Julie Slaymaker won the Kate Milner Rabb award, WPCI's highest honor, for the third time. It is named in honor of Rabb, president in 1930 and 1931, and an Indianapolis Star columnist who recently was inducted into the Indiana Journalism Hall of Fame. Slaymaker was instrumental in leading the campaign to induct Rabb.

Member Marion Garmel was named Communicator of Achievement and will compete for the national title at the National Federation of Press Women conference in September.

The club also awards two scholarships each year. This year, Sarah Phinney, a Ball State University senior, won the Hortense P. Myers Memorial Scholarship. Phinney is a reporter with Indiana Public Radio and managing editor of News Link Indiana in Muncie. She received the Poynter Fellowship for College Journalists, and, for two consecutive years, the Scripps Howard Foundation scholarship. This summer she will intern with the CBS News investigative unit in New York.

Stephanie Dolan, a junior at St. Mary of the Woods College, received the Louise Eleanor Ross Kleinhenz Memorial Scholarship, which awards women ages 30 or older who are pursuing journalism careers. Dolan is a staff writer for The Woods and a news correspondent for The Mooresville Times.

Several members were awarded certificates in honor of membership milestones. Joan Bey, who has served as president and historian, among other offices in WPCI, was honored for 60 years of membership. Helen Corey and Ruth Chin were honored for 50 years of membership. Others were Elaine Bell, 35 years; Barbara Ralls, 20 years; and Lana Christian and Stephanie Taylor Ferriell, five years.

Here are the contest winners:

Want more news?

The fine print:
Congress shall make no law respecting an establishment of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof; or abridging the freedom of speech, or of the press; or the right of the people peaceably to assemble and to petition the government for a redress of grievances. -- First Amendment of the Constitution of the United States
reporter's notebook
For information about this site, contact eScribe for Web design and development information, or email Webmaster@wpcindiana.org.

URL: http://www.wpcindiana.org

Updated June 2012